More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Sunday, 3 April 2011

High Level Ranters - Northumberland For Ever

Topic (12T186, 1968)

Tyneside's High Level Ranters were among the most innovative bands on the 1960s traditional folk scene: one of the first groups to give equal weight to songs and instrumental dance tunes.  The line-up on this album is like a who's who of North Eastern folk music at the time: Johnny Handle on vocals, accordion, guitar and piano; Colin Ross on fiddle, whistle, Northumbrian pipes and jews harp; Foster Charlton on fiddle and Northumbrian pipes; Tom Gilfellon on vocals and guitar; and Alistair Anderson on English concertina.  Recorded by Bill Leader and with sleeve notes from no less than A L Lloyd, this is an absolutely classic album which will be of interest to all folk fans, whether or not they're familiar with the Northumbrian and Tyneside traditions.

Track Listing
  • Shew's the Way to Wallington/The Peacock Followed the Hen
  • The Sandgate Girl's Lament/Elsie Marley
  • Bellingham Boat/Lambskinnet
  • Adam Buckham
  • Meggy's Foot
  • The Lads of North Tyne/The Redesdale Hornpipe
  • The Hexhamshire Lass
  • The Breakdown/Blanchland Races
  • The Lads of Alnwick/Lamshaw's Fancy
  • Byker Hill
  • Whinham's Reel/Nancy
  • Because he was a Bonny Lad/Salmon Tails up the Water/Sweet Hesleyside
  • Dance to Your Daddy
  • Billy Boy
  • Nae Guid luck aboot the Hoose
  • Mi' Laddie Sits Ower Late Up
  • The Keel Row/Kafoozalum/The Washing Day

No comments:

Post a Comment