More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Saturday, 28 August 2010

Bill Evans Trio - New Jazz Conceptions

(Riverside (USA) Monaural LP RLP 12-223, recorded in 1956)

This is the very first Evans album featuring bassist Teddy Kotick, with Paul Motian on drums. This is the 1958 version, with a cover illustration by artist Robert Parker replacing the original photograph. The original, released just two years earlier, is listed in the Goldmine Jazz Album Price Guide at a whopping 500 dollars (!) but the one described here goes for a lot less. The selections here include Evans originals "No Cover, No Minimum" and "Five" as well as the first recording of his most enduring tune, "Waltz For Debby", but they play mostly standards here (Cole Porter's "I Love You", Ellington's "I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good", Kurt Weill's "Speak Low", as well as other jazz originals (George Shearing's "Conception", Tadd Dameron's "Our Delight"). An auspicious debut by Evans.

No comments:

Post a Comment