More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Monday, 11 July 2011

The Band - Islands

Capitol E-ST  11602 (UK issue), released in 1977.  

Two years on, and The Band are still spinning their magic on a set of original songs from within the group, with only two, the first being the  Hoagy Carmichael  classic, "Georgia On My Mind", and the second, "Ain't That A Lot Of Love", by H. Banks and W. Parker coming from outside.  Six of the tunes, "Right As Rain", Let The Night Fall", "Christmas Must Be Tonight", "The Saga Of Pepote Rouge", "Knockin' Lost John", and "Livin'' In A Dream" are by Robbie Robertson, while he collaborates with Rick Danko on one, "Street Walker", and with Danko and Garth Hudson on the title tune, "Islands".  Present on some tracks are guest horn-players Tom MaloneJim Gordon and John Simon. Another winning programme.   The only Band album not included in this collection is the live album from 1978, "The Last Waltz", which also exists as a much-broadcast 'live' concert.

No comments:

Post a Comment