More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Monday, 11 July 2011

The Band (second album)

Capitol STAO - 132 (USA), released in 1969. 

Here we have the second Band LP, featuring all compositions by Jaime Robbie Robertson, and including "Across The Great Divide", "Rag Mama Rag", with a great groove, "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down" (later covered by Joan Baez, among others), "Up On Cripple Creek", "Rockin' Chair", "Look Out Cleveland", "The Unfaithful Servant", and the epic "King Harvest Has Surely Come", evoking the tragedies wrought by Dust Bowl farm foreclosures, and people striking for higher wages.  With Richard Manuel, he wrote "When You Awake", "Whispering Pines" and "Jawbone", while "Jemima Surrender" has Robbie collaborating with Levon Helm. The musicians all play many instruments each, with Garth Hudson, organ, clavinette, piano, accordion, soprano, tenor and baritone saxophones, slide trumpet(!);  Richard Manuel, vocals, piano, drums, baritone saxophone, mouth harp;Levon Helm, vocals, drums, mandolin, guitar; Rick Danko, vocals, bass, violin, trombone; and  Jaime Robbie Robertson, guitar, vocals & engineer. Guesting is producer John Simon, tuba, electric piano, "high school and peck horns & engineer".  What a great follow-up to the "Big Pink" album. 

No comments:

Post a Comment