More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Monday, 11 July 2011

The Band - Northern Lights, Southern Cross

Capitol E-ST 11440 (UK issue), released in 1975.   

A departure from previous albums, as Robbie Robertson is the sole composer represented here.  But given the nature of The Band, it's always a collaborative effort, and they always seem to get it right!  So, one track, "Acadian Driftwood" harks back to their Canadian heritage, the story of the migration to Louisiana, with the Acadian presence as "Cajuns" there.  Some French vocalizing is heard.  Also, on this track appears the only non-Band musician, guest fiddler Byron Berline.   The other titles are: "Forbidden Fruit", "Hobo Jungle", "Ophelia", "Ring Your Bell", "It Makes No Difference", "Jupiter Hollow", and "Rags And Bones".  The guys do their usual musical sorcery using a vast array of instruments (see previous Band listings).  Another worthy addition to theBand canon.

No comments:

Post a Comment