More than just a shop

scroll down below our current eBay listings to read our mini-reviews of classic albums

Visit our eBay Shop

Currently in our eBay Shop

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

'Cannonball' Adderley w/ Oliver Nelson Orchestra - "Domination"

Capitol Records ST 2203 (stereo) (USA), 1964 

Here we find 'Cannonball' Adderley away from the quintet, featured in a big-band setting with that nonpareil arrangerOliver Nelson, on a programme of originals, save for one obscure standard by Cole Porter, "I Worship You".  Along with'Cannonball' on alto saxophone, Nat Adderley is featured on cornet and trumpet, and the only other quintet member present here is pianist Joe Zawinul.  'Cannonball' contributes two originals, the title track "Domination" and "Introduction To A Samba", brother Nat Adderley wrote "Cyclops", while three pianists contribute three originals, Ray Bryant's "Shake A Lady", Joe Zawinul's "Mystified" (also known as "Angel Face"), and former Adderley pianist Victor Feldman's "Gon Gong".  Also, trombonist J. J. Johnson contributes "Interlude". Although the album fails to list the collective personnel, I found the remaining Oiver Nelson musicians by browsing the Internet, where there is a great Italian website dedicated to all things 'Cannonball'.  Recorded in New York, the orchestra includes: Jimmy Maxwell, Jimmy Nottingham, Clark Terry, Snooky Young, trumpets; Jimmy Cleveland, Willie Dennis, J. J. Johnson, Tony Studd, trombones; Budd Johnson, Bob Ashton, Danny Bank, Phil Woods, Marshall Royal, reeds; Joe Zawinul, piano; Richard Davis, bass; and Grady Tate, drums. 

No comments:

Post a Comment